Toldos

{Bereishis 27:32-36}

(32) “Isaac his father said to him, “Who are you?” (33) And he said, “I am your son, your first-born, Esav.” And Isaac trembled a great trembling, and said, “Who – where – is he, the one who caught game and brought it to me, and I ate of all when you had not yet come, and I blessed him? He shall also be blessed!(34) When Esav heard his father’s words, he cried out an exceedingly great and bitter cry, and said to his father, “Bless me too, Father!” (35) But he said, “Your brother came with cleverness and took your blessing.” (36) He said, “Was his name called Jacob, and he outwitted me these two times? – He took away my birthright and see, now he took away my blessing!”

Rashi comments: Why did Isaac tremble? He said, “Perhaps I have sinned, that I have blessed the younger ahead of the elder, and I deviated from the order of lineage?” Esav began to cry out, “He outwitted me these two times!” His father said to him, “What other thing did he do to you?” Esav said to him, “He took my birthright as firstborn.” Isaac said, “Over this was I distressed and trembling, lest I crossed the line of the law. Now I see that I blessed the firstborn. “He shall also be blessed.”

Rashi explains that Yitzchak exclaimed “He shall also be blessed” when he realized that Esav had sold the first-born right to Yakov. Yakov was the deserved recipient of the blessing. No mistake had been made.

The order, however, is problematic. As can be seen above, “He shall also be blessed” (verse 33)  was exclaimed well before Esav admits that he sold the first-born right to Yakov (verse 36).

This entry was posted in Toldos and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Toldos

  1. fdf says:

    Llearn the rishonim on the parsha (Ramban, Rabaynu Bachyeh, Even Ezreh etc) in addition to the Alshich (toras moshe) and “all” your questions will be answered CLEARLY.

    • tzorichiyun says:

      Indeed, the Rishonim on the Parsha should be studied. But there is another goal essential to Torah learning – that is to be engaged in a creative process of Torah analysis by asking questions and thinking of insightful answers. It has been done through the ages. It is called Chidushei Torah.

      Besides, although the Rishonim surely possessed the answers to all questions, not all answers can be CLEARLY seen in their words. Many times, in fact, deducing their answers requires the same analysis and thought Chidushim require.

      If you do find the answer to this question in the Rishonim, please share it with us.

Leave a Reply

